Aayushi International Interdisciplinary Research Journal (AIIRJ)						
VOL- VIII	ISSUE- IX	SEPTEMBER	2021	PEER REVIEW e-JOURNAL	IMPACT FACTOR 7.149	ISSN 2349-638x

Unpublished Kattebennuru Inscription of Huvina Hadagali Taluk

Dr. Nagaveni A.

18th ward, Manmathkeri Kamalapur-583 221 Hospet Tq, Ballary Dist., Karnataka State Email Id: <u>angadinagaveni@gmail.com</u>

Introduction

Hadagali is situated to the South West direction

of Ballari district in Karnataka. It is 150 kms away from Ballari district head quarter and 341 kms away from state capital. Presently Hadagali is a taluk center and town municipal council. This place was once called Huvina Hadagali but over a period of time it has been called Hadagali though official records still maintain the full name Huvina Hadagali.

Huvina Hadagali is one of the eight taluks of Ballari district. Hirehadagali, Huvinahadagali and Itagi are the major Hobli centers of this taluk. This taluk is 341 kms away from state Capital Bengaluru and 150 kms away from the district centre Ballari¹. The taluk is bounded on the south by the Harpanahalli taluk, on the north by Mundargi of Gadag district, on the east by the Hagaribommanahalli taluk and on the west by Haveri and Ranebennur taluks of Haveri district.

The geographical area of the taluk is 2,34,317.17 sq.km. Likewise, the total geographical area of the three major Hoblis is Huvina Hadagali 99,406.18 sq.km, Hirehadagali 68,262.12 sq km and Itagi 648.12 sq.kms². As per the 2011 census, the total population of the taluk is 1,95,219 (98,853 Male and 96,366 Females). The gender ratio is 970 females per 1000 males³.

This taluk was ruled over by many dynasties such as Mauryans, Shatavahanas, Badami Chalukyas, Dwarasamudra Hoysalas, Kings of Kummatadurga, Kurugodu Sindhs, Rashtrakutas, Kalyani Chalukyas, Devagiri Yadavas, Kakatiyas, Nolambas, Sevunas, Vijayanagra Kings, and feudal lords, Mysore Wodeyars, Mysore Sultans and the British. All these dynasties have contributed their bit for the cultural exuberance of this area.

The present paper is focused on donation of Plant as notified in the unpublished inscription of Kattebennuru village.

There are 24 grampanchayats and 112 villages. Out of this 56 are revenue villages. Kattebennuru is one of the grampanchayats of this taluk which is 27 kms away from Huvina Hadagali. This Gram Panchaythas 5 villages, out of which 2 are revenue villages; 1. Kattebennuru-Giriyapura 2. Hirebannimatti, Chikkabannimatti and Nandigavi. *The geographical area of the village is 5697.83 acres,* in this 4193.64 acres of agriculture land and the total population is 6835⁴.

Official records reveal that Kattebennuru was once an administrative centre of Bennevooru-12 of sub-division Kogali-500 in Nolambawadi 32000. Kuruvatti, Mukurabbe and Haruhe villages were in this jurisdiction. Kattebennuru was also known as Kantebennuru. So far, a total of 6 inscriptions have been published from this village. Out of this, 2 inscriptions belong to the region of Jagadekamalla of Chalukya dynasty and 2 are Hero Stones and one inscription has no mention of period. These inscriptions have historical significance as they are helpful in understanding the political, economical, social and cultural aspects.

There is a Grant Inscription (Dana Shasana) on the Navarang Pillar at the dilapidated Gavi Mutt. This inscription is engraved in 9 lines. Based on its carving, it can be informed that this inscription belongs to Chalukyan period. There is a reference to Solar Eclipse occurred on Sunday during Yuva Samvatsara Magha Bahula. It was a custom to donate grants on full moon day, solar eclipse and other auspicious occasions. The inscription states that a plantation was donated by Bahu Bhugudi Seti, Shivagi Seti, Matta Bha Nandi Seti and others to plant an eternal lamp (Nanda Deevige) before Bhogeshwara deity.



References

- 1. Ballary district Gazetteer
- Ibid., 2.
- 3. Census of India 2011: Data from the 2011 Census, including cities, villages and towns (Provisional), Census Commission of India, Ichi RDPR w Archive

Text

- Swasti Srimatu Yuva Samvatsara Magha
- Bahula Amavasi Adityavara Bheti la •
- Sanga-Vanna Suryagrahanadallu Ayivatta •
- Kka Samamdittu Bhogeshwara De •
- Vara Nandadeevige Evattokkalu •
- Mukyavagi Bahu Bhugu •
- Diseti Shivagi- Seti Bha Nandi Se •
- Tigalu Bitta Tonta A Mangala Ma •
- Ha Sri Sri •

* This text prepared by Dr. Kalaveer Manvachar, Dept. of Epigraphy, Kannada University, Hampi.

www.aiirjournal.com